

Board Meeting Highlights

Tuesday, March 25, 2025

Inspired by Christ. Aspiring to Excellence.



Board of Trustees Murray Hollman - Chair Anne Marie Watson - Vice Chair Sharla Heistad Cynthia Leyson Dorraine Lonsdale Kim Pasula

Board Approves Three-Year Capital Plan

The Board of Trustees approved the 2025-2028 Three-Year Capital Plan. The top three priorities are:

- 1. A new high school in Sylvan Lake.
- 2. Modernization of École Secondaire Notre Dame High School.
- 3. A new Catholic Kindergarten to grade 9 school in Innisfail.

To view the Three Year Capital Plan, please click here.

Stakeholder Engagement Sessions Planned to Guide Budget Priorities

The Board of Trustees reviewed plans for upcoming Stakeholder Engagement Sessions taking place in April 2025. The Board of Trustees is hosting these sessions to gather input from parents, staff, and community members to help guide budget priorities for the 2025–2026 school year. Two sessions will be held: an online session on April 15 and an in-person session on April 16 at St. Thomas Aquinas Middle School.

The Superintendent emphasized the importance of community feedback in addressing current challenges and shaping the budget. Trustees noted the significance of these sessions in ensuring decisions reflect the needs and values of the school community.

For more information on the Stakeholder Engagement Sessions, click here.

Board Celebrates Outstanding Staff Recognitions

The Board of Trustees celebrated exceptional educators within the division. Avery Lajeunesse and Jillian Klevyer were recognized by the Board of Trustees as Red Deer Catholic's nominees for the ASBA Zone 4 Edwin Parr Award, which recognizes excellence among first-year teachers. Jillian Klevyer was announced as the division's finalist and will represent RDCRS at the Zone 4 Edwin Parr Event on May 26. Both educators were honoured for their outstanding contributions and were joined by their school principals.

Additionally, Linda Downey was recognized as the division's winner for the Council of Catholic School Superintendents of Alberta (CCSSA) Excellence in Catholic Education Award for her deep commitment to Catholic education. She was supported at the meeting by her principal and vice-principal. The award is presented annually at the SPICE conference by the CCSSA.

The Board extended its heartfelt congratulations to all three nominees for their dedication and impact within the school community.

The next Board Meeting will take place on Tuesday, April 29, 2025, at 5:30 p.m.

Monny Dear

Murray Hollman, Board Chair www.rdcrs.ca