

Minutes of an Organizational Meeting of The Red Deer Catholic Separate School Division, held August 25, 2023.

Present: S. Heistad

M. LaGrange C. Leyson D. Lonsdale

A. Watson, Trustees

K. Finnigan, Superintendent of Schools

L. Latka, Secretary-Treasurer M. St. Pierre, Executive Assistant

A. Vischer, Communications Coordinator

Joined via Zoom: K. Pasula - temporary intermittent failure of internet

connection (NOT SUBSTANTIVE)

Not in Attendance: M. Hollman

The meeting was called to order by Chair Watson at 11:35 A.M.

23/08/25-01-Lonsdale

THAT THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MOVE IN CAMERA.

CARRIED.

23/08/25-02-Leyson

THAT THE BOARD MOVE OUT OF CAMERA AT 12:40 P.M.

CARRIED.

23/08/25-03-Lonsdale

THAT THE BOARD RECESS UNTIL THE REGULAR PUBLIC MEETING IS CALLED TO ORDER.

CARRIED.

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Finnigan at 1:12 P.M.

Superintendent Finnigan led the group in prayer.

Trustee Lonsdale read the Land Acknowledgement aloud.

1. ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR

The Superintendent called for nominations for the position of Board Chair.

Trustee Heistad nominated Trustee Watson for the position of Board Chair.

Trustee Watson accepted the nomination.

There were no further nominations for the position of Board Chair.

23/08/25-04-Lonsdale

THAT NOMINATIONS FOR THE POSITION OF BOARD CHAIR CEASE.

CARRIED.

The Superintendent declared Trustee Watson elected Board Chair.

Chair Watson assumed the Chair.

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Board Chair called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

Trustee Lonsdale nominated Trustee Leyson for Vice-Chair.

Trustee Leyson accepted the nomination.

There were no further nominations for the position of Vice-Chair.

23/08/25-05-Heistad

THAT NOMINATIONS FOR THE POSITION OF VICE CHAIR CEASE.

CARRIED.

Chair Watson declared Trustee Leyson elected Vice-Chair.

- 3. The Organizational Meeting report was reviewed by Trustees.
- 4. COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENTS

23/08/25-06-Leyson

THAT COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS FOR THE 2023-2024 SCHOOL YEAR ARE AS FOLLOWS:

Board/A.T.A. Liaison	Chair Anne Marie Watson Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson
Superintendent Negotiating	Chair Anne Marie Watson Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson
Student Matters Appeals/Hearing Committee	Trustees rotate
Audit Committee	Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale Trustee Kim Pasula Trustee Murray Hollman
Red Deer Catholic Foundation	Trustee Monique LaGrange Trustee Kim Pasula
A.T.A. Negotiations	Trustee Kim Pasula Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale - TEBA
CUPE Negotiations	Chair Anne Marie Watson Trustee Monique LaGrange
A.S.B.A. Zone 4	Trustee Murray Hollman Trustee Sharla Heistad (alternate)
A.C.S.T.A.	Trustee Monique LaGrange Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson (alternate)
Rural Caucus Committee	Trustee Sharla Heistad
TEBA (do this one prior to ata negotiations)	Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale
Joint Use Planning Governing	Trustee Sharla Heistad Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale

CARRIED.

23/08/25-07-LaGrange

THAT TRUSTEE LONSDALE REPRESENT THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AT TEBA FOR THE 2023-2024 SCHOOL YEAR.

CARRIED.

5. SCHOOL LIAISON AND APPOINTMENTS

The following school liaison appointments were made:

School	Trustee Representative
École Camille J. Lerouge School	Trustee Kim Pasula
École Secondaire Notre Dame High School	Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson
École Mother Teresa School	Trustee Sharla Heistad
École Our Lady of the Rosary School	Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale
Father Henri Voisin School	Trustee Monique LaGrange
Holy Family School	Trustee Murray Hollman
Holy Trinity School	Trustee Sharla Heistad
Maryview School	Trustee Monique LaGrange
St. Dominic High School	Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale
St. Elizabeth Seton School	Chair Anne Marie Watson
St. Francis of Assisi School	Chair Anne Marie Watson
St. Gregory the Great Catholic School	Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson
St. Joseph High School	Trustee Kim Pasula
St. Lorenzo Ruiz	Vice-Chair Cynthia Leyson
St. Marguerite Bourgeoys School	Trustee Sharla Heistad
St. Martin de Porres school	Trustee Monique LaGrange

St. Matthew School	Trustee Dorraine Lonsdale
St. Patrick's Community School	Trustee Murray Hollman
St. Teresa of Avila School	Chair Anne Marie Watson
St. Thomas Aquinas School	Trustee Murray Hollman
St. John Paul II Outreach School	Trustee Kim Pasula

6. REGULAR BOARD MEETING DATES

Board policy has established that regular board meetings will be scheduled for the last Tuesday of each month beginning at 5:30 p.m, and alternating on the last Friday of every month beginning at 1:30 p.m. unless otherwise agreed to by the Board.

23/08/25-08-LaGrange

THAT THE BOARD ACCEPT THE UPCOMING BOARD MEETING DATES AS FOLLOWS:

Tuesday, September 26, 2023 Friday, October 27, 2023 Tuesday, November 28, 2023 Friday, January 26, 2024 Tuesday, February 27, 2024 Friday, March 22, 2024 Tuesday, April 23, 2024 Friday, May 24, 2024 Tuesday, June 18, 2024

CARRIED.

7. MINI-RETREATS AND OPTIONAL DATES FOR CONSIDERATION

Trustees reviewed possible dates suitable for full-day Board mini retreats. The following date was agreed upon by Trustees to hold for the use of a full-day Board mini-retreat. Possible dates for additional full-day mini retreats will be discussed in the September board meeting.

Monday, October 23, 2023

8. ANNUAL BOARD WORK PLAN REVIEW AND UPDATES

Board policy has established that the Board shall develop and or review an Annual Work Plan at every Organizational Meeting. Trustees reviewed and agreed to the information provided in the 2023-2024 RDCRS Annual Board Work Plan.

23/08/25-09-Heistad

THAT BOARD ACCEPT THE ANNUAL BOARD WORK PLAN AS PRESENTED.

CARRIED.

9. OTHER IMPORTANT UPCOMING DATES FOR TRUSTEES

Trustees reviewed upcoming dates for the 2023-2024 school year.

- September 5, 2023 ACSTA Governance Process Meeting for Board Chair, Superintendent and ACSTA Director (1:00 pm Zoom Meeting)
- September 19, 2023 St Mary's first formation mass @ 7:00 pm
- September 25, 2023 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (Wolf Creek hybrid)
- October 5, 2023 Archbishop Mass
- October 6, 2023 Archbishop Dinner, Edmonton
- Trustee Facility & School Tours:
 - October 10, 2023 École Our Lady of the Rosary, École Mother Teresa, St. Dominic High School, St. Matthew Catholic School
 - October 12, 2023 Holy Trinity, St. Marguerite Bourgeoys Catholic School, École Secondaire Notre Dame High School, St. Francis of Assisi Middle School, Holy Family School
- October 16, 2023 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting RDCRS hosting
- October 18, 2023 St. Gregory the Great, St. Lorenzo Ruiz, St. Teresa of Avila, St. Patrick's Community School, St. Martin de Porres, St. Thomas Aguinas School, St. John Paul II Outreach
- October 31, 2023 Maryview, St. Elizabeth Seton, St. Joseph High School, Father Henri Voisin, École Camille J. Lerouge, Maintenance Department, Transportation Department
- October 14, 2023 ACSTA Governance Summit
- October 16, 2023 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (Wolf Creek)
- October 26, 2023 St. Lorenzo Ruiz Grand Opening
- November 5, 2023 Catholic Education Sunday
 - St. Mary's masses hosted by RDCRS
- November 17-19 ACSTA Annual General Meeting (Edmonton)

- November 19-21 ASBA Fall General Meeting (Edmonton)
- November 22, 2023 Stakeholder Engagement Session Online and in-person Event
- November 27, 2023 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (TBD)
- December 8, 2023 RDCRS Faith Day
- January 22, 2024 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (TBD)
- February 9-10, 2024 ACSTA Symposium
- February 26, 2024 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (TBD)
- March 25, 2024 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting (TBD)
- April 22, 2024 ASBA Zone 4 Meeting
- April 25-28, 2024 SPICE Retreat (Kanaskis)
- April 30 May 3, 2024 Blueprints Retreat (Kananaskis) liaison
- May 9, 2024 World Catholic Education Day
- May 22, 2024 Rosary Celebration at SJHS
- May 27, 2024 ASBA Zone 4 Mtg (Virtual)
- May 27, 2024 Edwin Parr Celebration
- June 3-4, 2024 ASBA Spring General Meeting
- September 26, 2024 Board & Superintendent Evaluations

23/08/25-10-LaGrange

THAT THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING ADJOURN TO THE REGULAR MEETING AT 1:52 P.M.

CARRIED.

(CHAIR)
(SECRETARY-TREASURER)