## Town Hall Meeting - St. Gabriel Online School May 28, 2020

Meeting was called to order at 7:43pm.

In attendance:

Kathleen Finnigan, Anne Marie Watson, Rod Steeves, Juanita Heidt, Ryan Sawula, Heather Howe (in person) (virtual attendees name list on back page)

Dr. Dave Khatib opened the meeting in prayer.

Chair Watson explained policy 13 and the steps the division has taken to make budget decisions.

Interim Superintendent Finnigan explained the proposed Blended Learning Structure for 2020/2021. She explained that they feel that we can build online in the 3 high schools and keep St. John Paul II Outreach Centre viable as well. The cost of St. Gabriel is \$1M per year, which is not sustainable under the new funding model.

The Interim Superintendent, the Associate Superintendent of Inclusive Learning, and the Principal of St. Joseph High School explained:

- the funding model;
- how blended learning will work;
- timetabling for students and teachers;
- blended learning at St. Dominic High School;
- summer school:
- international students:
- registration process;

Staff, parents and stakeholders asked questions, which were answered by the Board Chair, Interim Superintendent, Associate Superintendent of Inclusion and the Secretary-Treasurer.

The Board Chair explained Policy 13 - Closure of Schools and asked people to reach out via the website (information account) to ask questions or provide more feedback.

The presentation and FAQs will be available on the website.

The motion on the future of St. Gabriel Online School will come to the June 23 Board meeting; the public can attend virtually if they choose. If the Board decides to keep St Gabriel Online School then that money will have to be pulled from other areas of the Division budget. If the Board votes to close St. Gabriel Online School the Minister of Education will be notified as per Policy 13.

## Attendees (via Zoom):

	1	,
Kim Pasula	Dorraine Lonsdale	Cynthia Leyson
Robert Maloughney	Murray Hollman	Sharle Heistad
Dave Khatib	Lindsay Sorensen	Ryan McCabe
Michelle McCabe	Beverly Perozzo	Candace Smith
Sheri Jones	Gregg Broks	Mark Monaghan
Nicola Butler	Monique Smith	Kurt Kure
Donna Leontowicz	Marion Hay	Corey Lightbown
Dorice de Champlain	Jarrett Fullerton	Mary Beally
Tracey Millar	Kristie McCullough	Steve McPherson
Adam Sia	Mike Cellini	Melissa Meyer
Nancy MacIsaac	Terry Krushelnicki	Miguel Deschenes
Stephen Merredew	Jill Meraw	Shannon McPherson
Rose McQuay	Donna Bradley	Natalie Cote
Haleigh Sanderson	Heather Lewchuk	Shannon Nivens
Josh Hall	Teresa Jaeger	Christine Couture
Dayna Dewar	Maria St. Pierre	Laura Svab
Michelle Ovie	Angelo Delli Santi	Graeme Daniel